Breakdown Oar Stowage

Breakdown oars allow you to get the length of oar you need while also storing the oar onboard Scamp.  Gig Harbor makes a great set that seem ideal for this design.  And yet, there’s a problem.  The problem is that by the time you install a 1.5″-2″ seat cushion, the oars will be very difficult to remove from behind the seat.

So, I decided to give my backrest a haircut.

Check it out:

IMG_2899
The front portion of the oar is completely under the coaming and will be very difficult to remove with a seat cushion in place.  It will also be difficult to remove the screw down hatch in this current configuration.
IMG_2900
The aft portion of the oar can tuck neatly behind the anchor bag.
IMG_2901
So I removed a portion of the coaming to allow better access.
IMG_2902
This now will allow me to remove my oars without too much struggling with the seat cushion.  It also improves access to the storage compartment.
IMG_2903
Both pieces now fit nicely behind the coaming, improving access to the hatch and should be easy to remove — even with a seat cushion in place.

Summary:

I don’t think this modification jeopardizes the comfort of the backrest and yet improves accessibility to both the hatch and oar set.   It looks a little extreme now, but once the seat cushion are installed, it should be about right.  

On of these days I’m going to be ready to flip this thing…

2 Replies to “Breakdown Oar Stowage”

  1. Randy, that’s exactly what happens. I’m so glad I’m at this stage of the build, cuz I could use a little more sleep. Having fun…

    Brent

    Like

Leave a comment