Getting Closer

I’ve completed a myriad of tasks in my attempt to finish up this build.  I’ve still got quite a ways to go, but with daily attention to small details, I’ll get them.  The photos below show the boat a little dusty, but you’ll get the idea.

I’ve added the Sapele rub rail and cabin trim pieces which added a classic look to the paint scheme.

Check it out:

IMG_3194IMG_3195IMG_3196IMG_3197IMG_3199IMG_3201

I still need to get the bright work completed, add the deck rigging, buy a trailer, finish up the mast, built the tiller arm, install pintles and gudgeons, install rudder head and practice driveway stepping of the mast, before I’m ready to sail.  I feel so close yet so far away.  Not to mention seat cushions, travel covers, cockpit tents and mast/boom travel crutches.  Funny how when you’re almost done, you think of 1,000 things yet to accomplish.

Daily accomplishment of small tasks is the way to the finish line.  

2 Replies to “Getting Closer”

  1. Hi Brent. The color scheme looks great. I like the contrast of the Sapele wood. Gives the boat a lift in looks against the paint scheme.
    I can relate to the,” more I complete the more I have to do to finish!”
    Keep the posts coming. I have just epoxied my rudder and now onto the CB.
    Cheers.

    Like

  2. Thanks Don, I appreciate the encouragement. These ships take a long time to build, but in the end, we’ll have nice little organized sailing vessels.

    Best,
    Brent

    Like

Leave a comment