Bronze Portlights and More…

First off, check out this beautiful bronze portlight ring.  You’re also looking at 1/4″ safety glass behind the ring.  These make my boat look like a serious vessel.

IMG_3204

Last time I built my own port rings using scrap wood, but I decided to go for the bling factor this time.  They look amazing and finish off this area of the boat very nicely.

Notice also the captive bow eyes on the very front of the bow.  One for a traditional anchor, the other for a sea anchor.  These anchors will be led back to the cockpit by way of the fairlead mounted on the veranda front.  The anchor sheet will be secured to the cleat mounted on the veranda side.

IMG_3207

Since the veranda side panel is only 1/4″, I added a backer plate and used fender washers to secure the cleat.  I’ll probably cut off the protruding bolts to further clean up the look.  I also elected to through bolt the bronze port light rings with stainless bolts.

Now back to the original picture:

IMG_3204

Also notice the strap eye just aft of the deck cleat.  This will secure my re-entry sling.  It too has been bolted through a backer plate and secured with fender washers and nuts.  You’ll put a lot of pressure on these when re-entering your sailboat after capsizing.  All these little things make Scamp a safer, more seaworthy craft.

Now, let’s get the Sapele brightly finished!

Leave a comment