Re-Entry Lines

When, not if you capsize, you’ll need a way of getting back into your boat.  While my son, Preston and I attended Howard Rice’s Scamp Skills Academy in Port Townsend WA, we learned to use re-entry straps to board a capsized Scamp.  This system worked very well for us.  I wouldn’t sail without a proven way to re-enter my boat.

Check it out:

IMG_3239
Through bolted stainless strap eyes from DuckWorks.  
IMG_3240
I’m going with the basic overhand knot until I dial in the length.  Hmmm…maybe forever.  
IMG_3242
I going to try 2 zip ties to keep the line tended.  This may or may not work.  I applied just enough tension to tend the lines without overly binding the lines.  This will allow the line to pull through  the zip ties when needed.    
IMG_3244
It’s very important the re-entry lines runs under the fender lines, so it will pull free when needed.  
IMG_3245
All set up ready for sea trials.  But wait…I still need a rudder and trailer.  

Up Next:

Installing the rudder head assembly and making a tiller arm.

4 Replies to “Re-Entry Lines”

    1. Just home from two weeks at Kootenay Lake. Some very nice sailing winds witnessed from shore. I plan to bring my SCAMP along next year. Thinking we should meet up there for some sea trials and exploring. It is a huge sea like lake with some interesting Marine parks, inlets, light houses, etc to check out.

      Like

Leave a comment