Fender Storage System & more…

One of the issues I wanted to revamp during this build was to come up with an improved system for:

  1. Boarding from the shore
  2. Fender storage
  3. Re-entry safety and comfort upon capsize
  4. Quicker deployment of fenders at the dock
  5. Quicker storage of fenders when leaving the dock
  6. Improved fender adjustment at the dock

What if we could accomplish all of these issues with one simple system.  But, before we solve these problems, let’s make sure we understand the problems.  

  1. Boarding from shore.  IMHO, Scamp is hard to board.  The cockpit coaming makes it  very difficult to jump aboard, especially when pushing the boat off shore in shallow water.  It’s almost impossible unless you simply flop onto the coaming edge and roll in.  I’m getting a little old for that technique.
  2. Fender storage.  Fenders are big, wet and awkward.  And, they take up a ton of room.
  3. When I used the re-entry sling on my last Scamp, it became apparent to me that a softer cockpit coaming edge would make the process safer and more comfortable.
  4. When I’m approaching a dock, there’s a lot going on.  I’m primarily focused on wind direction, wind speed and hull speed.  The last thing I want to do is worry about deploying the fenders.
  5. When leaving a dock there’s also a lot going on.  I’m getting the sail set, checking the   center board and trying not to stall the sail.  Yet those pesky fenders are dragging in the water, which everyone will tell you looks very un-seamanlike.  Otherwise, I’d be tempted to simply let them drag.
  6. I hate fiddling with fender lines.  It seems they’re never quite right and always require more time than I care to give them.  I’m usually tired, worn out and sunburned.  I want the fenders right, but am frustrated when I’m required to putz around with them.

How about one simple system to solve all the above problems:  (drum roll please….)

IMG_3224
4 fenders in total.  2 per side.  Safely and neatly stored.
IMG_3225
They don’t get in the way of the oars when rowing.
IMG_3229
By releasing 2 quick release buckles, the fenders fall into their proper position.
IMG_3226
All it takes is 2 strap eyes per fender.  The fenders can be adjusted up or down, but the preset looks just about right.
IMG_3228
I mounted one to the coaming, the other through the deck.  Both are through bolted using stainless hardware.
IMG_3227
The quick release line gets a knot to keep it in proper position.
IMG_3238
This makes boarding from shore or upon capsize much safer and more comfortable.  The hand hold on the veranda top comes in handy here.  Just sit down and throw your legs in.
IMG_3237
Care to hike out?  The fenders should also provide a very comfortable arm rest when sailing.
IMG_3232
And, it even make Scamp look more like a US Coast Guard approved battleship.  Fully equipped, ready for action.  This storage system also keeps the wet, slippery fenders outside your boat.

Summary:

I’m really curious what the extra floatation will do for Scamp when capsized.  One strap seems adequate to keep the fenders into proper position, but subsequent sea trials will tell the real story.  Fender deployment and storage is extremely fast and secure.  The adjustable fender straps make dock side adjustments a snap.  

 

 

3 Replies to “Fender Storage System & more…”

  1. That is so helpful. Your solutions to problems and sharing them is commendable. When you are a crew of one sometimes you need to multi- task real quick and this fender issue is now sorted and tidy.
    Cheers and thanks..

    Like

  2. Looks great. I may copy this. What size are the fenders? I also appreciate your inclusion of boarding straps. I, too, have drilled with Howard on re-entering the boat following a capsize, so I agree that this is totally necessary. I went to Port Townsend last weekend and saw several completed Scamps, which was helpful for my own project. Look forward to seeing your latest boat there sometime soon. Perhaps next summer?

    Like

  3. Bruce, the fenders measure 5,1/2″ x 20″. I bought them from West Marine. They have a G3 stamped on the side. Hope this helps. Ya, I’ll be back in the Port Townsend hopefully next year. Love to meet you and all the other good folks building these cool little boats. We’ve all been on quite a journey.
    Best,
    Brent

    Like

Leave a comment